Home / Articles / More Books Like Harry Potter

More Books Like Harry Potter


Eliza Cook

If you’re a fan of the Harry Potter series, you know how captivating the world of magic and adventure can be. While the beloved series has come to an end, there are many other books like Harry Potter that offer a similar blend of fantasy, excitement, and heart. From magical schools to brave heroes facing off against dark forces, these novels offer a chance to continue your journey through enchanted lands.

This post may contain affiliate links. You can read my affiliate policy here.

A girl reading a magical book like Harry Potter.

For fans of the Harry Potter series, it can be difficult to say goodbye to the beloved characters and magical world of Hogwarts.

But fear not, book lovers! There are plenty of other fantasy series out there that offer a similar level of adventure, magic, and captivating storytelling.

From epic battles between good and evil to coming-of-age tales set in fantastical worlds, these books that are similar to the Harry Potter books are sure to keep readers entranced.

In this article, we’ll explore five must-read fantasy series for kids looking to continue their journey into the magical realm of fantasy literature.

Nine Great Book Series’ to Read after Harry Potter

Young Wizards Series by Diane Duane

Ages 12 years and up

In the first of this series So You Want to be a Wizard? Nita Callahan is at the end of her rope because of the bullies who’ve been hounding her at school… until she discovers a mysterious library book that promises her the chance to become a wizard.

But she has no idea of the difference that taking the Wizard’s Oath is going to make in her life. Shortly, in company with fellow beginner-wizard Kit Rodriguez, Nita’s catapulted into what will be the adventure of a lifetime — if she and Kit can both live through it.

Plunged into a dark and deadly alternate New York full of the Lone One’s creatures, Kit and Nita must venture into the very heart of darkness to find the stolen, legendary Book of Night with Moon.

Only with the dangerous power of the wizardly Book do they have a chance to save not just their own lives, but their world.

A Wizard of Earthsea (#1 in The Earthsea Cycle) by Ursula K. Le Guin

Ages 12 years and up

Set in the fictional archipelago of Earthsea, the story follows the education of a young mage named Ged who joins a school of wizardry.

Ged was the greatest sorcerer in Earthsea, but in his youth, he was the reckless Sparrowhawk. In his hunger for power and knowledge, he tampered with long-held secrets and loosed a terrible shadow upon the world.

This is the tumultuous tale of his testing, how he mastered the mighty words of power, tamed an ancient dragon, and crossed death’s threshold to restore the balance.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series by Rick Riordan

10 years and up

Percy Jackson & the Olympians, often shortened to Percy Jackson, is a pentalogy of adventure and fiction books written by Rick Riordan.

In this five-book fantasy series, protagonist Percy Jackson discovers he is the son of Poseidon, god of the sea, and that Greek mythology is no myth at all. He learns that he is half-human and half-immortal, and being son of one of “the big three” (Zeus, Poseidon and Hades) makes him one of the most powerful demigods alive.

Throughout the series, Percy and other demigods fight the monsters that are trying to take him down. Compared to Harry Potter, the language isn’t as rich but it’s still a fantastic fantasy adventure (please don’t judge this excellent series by the dreadful movies!).

The Inheritance Cycle Series (Eragon) by Christopher Paolini

12 years and up

Think your child could write the next Harry Potter? Maybe he can! Eragon, the first in this three-book series, was written when Paolini was only 15.

The stories are set in the land of Alagaesia and focus on teenage Eragon, a 15-year-old farm boy, who finds a dragon egg while out hunting in the Spine.

When the dragon hatches for him, he takes on the responsibilities of the Dragon Riders and sets out on a quest to avenge his uncle’s death and, eventually, to bring defeat to the evil tyrant who rules Alagaesia.

The Ranger’s Apprentice

9 years and up

The Ranger’s Apprentice series is by far one of the longer series for your child to read. Currently 12 books long, it’s a wonderful adventure in an unnamed ancient time through the eyes of teen Will, who has taken on the role of the ranger’s apprentice.

As Will and his friends, who are apprenticed as knights and diplomats, learn their jobs, they learn about other cultures and human nature, too.

Septimus Heap Series by Angie Sage

9 years and up

In the first book of this series Magyk, the seventh son of the seventh son, aptly named Septimus Heap, is stolen the night he is born by a midwife who pronounces him dead. That same night, the baby’s father, Silas Heap, comes across a bundle in the snow containing a new born girl with violet eyes. The Heaps take this helpless newborn into their home, name her Jenna, and raise her as their own.

But who is this mysterious baby girl, and what really happened to their beloved son Septimus?

The first book in this enthralling series by Angie Sage leads readers on a fantastic journey filled with quirky characters and magical charms, potions, and spells. Magyk is an original story of lost and rediscovered identities, rich with humor and heart.

The Heir Chronicles by Cinda Williams Chima

12 years and up

This trilogy follows teenagers Jack, the Warrior Heir, Seph, the Wizard Heir, and Jason, the Dragon Heir, as they discover their powers and how their destinies are intertwined.

Children can relate to the ordinariness of these main characters as they figure out how to fight in the wizard war.

His Dark Materials Series by Philip Pullman

12 years and up

The Golden Compass (also published as Northern Lights) is the first in the His Dark Materials series, an epic trilogy of fantasy novels by Philip Pullman. It follows the coming of age of two children, Lyra Belacqua and Will Parry, as they wander through a series of parallel universes.

Like Harry potter this is a series written for children/ young adults, but is enjoyed just as much by adults. The fantasy elements include witches and armored polar bears, but the trilogy also alludes to ideas from physics, philosophy and theology.

The trilogy functions in part as a retelling and inversion of John Milton’s epic Paradise Lost, with Pullman commending humanity for what Milton saw as its most tragic failing, original sin.

Chronicles of Narnia Series by C. S. Lewis

8 years and up

You probably already know about these books but if you don’t, they’re absolutely engaging fantasy adventures that are just as readable as Harry Potter.

The seven novels in this classic children’s series were published between 1949 and 1954, but their stories stand the test of time. Kids and adults alike will be transported by the tales of ordinary children transported to the world of Narnia.

The first three books feature the Pevensie children, who become kings and queens of the kingdom. The other books tell the history and future of the fantastical land.

Once you’ve tackled all seven, you’ll have as clear a picture of Narnia as you once did of Hogwarts.