Home / Stories / Chapter books / Five Children and It

Five Children and It


E. Nesbit

Five Children and It is a classic children’s book written by British author E. Nesbit. The story follows the adventures of five siblings, Cyril, Anthea, Robert, Jane, and their baby brother, as they discover a mysterious creature known as the Psammead, or “Sand-fairy”, while playing in a gravel pit.

The Psammead has the power to grant wishes, but each wish comes with an unexpected and often comical consequence. As the children make their wishes, they must learn to deal with the unintended consequences and navigate the challenges that arise from their newfound powers.

The book is known for its imaginative storytelling, witty humor, and its message about the importance of family and friendship. It has been adapted into numerous films, plays, and other works of art over the years, and remains a beloved classic of children’s literature.

Note to parents: this is a vintage story, it may contain themes considered unsuitable for younger children and/or outdated negative cultural depictions.

Five Children and It book cover.

Five Children and It by E. Nesbit


  • E. Nesbit, born Edith Nesbit in 1858, was an English author and poet who is best known for her children's books. She wrote more than 60 books for children and young adults, many of which have become classic tales loved by generations of readers. Nesbit was a pioneering author in the field of children's literature, and her books are known for their imaginative plots, lovable characters, and engaging storytelling. She was also a strong advocate for children's rights and often used her stories to address social issues and promote positive values.