Home / Articles / Stories About Foxes

Stories About Foxes

By

Eliza Cook

Looking for fantastic tales about foxes to delight your young reader? From classic fables to modern bestsellers, we’ve compiled a list of stories about foxes for kids, that are sure to capture their imagination.

This post may contain affiliate links. You can read my affiliate policy here.

Watercolor image of fox asleep on books. Text overlay: stories about foxes.

Stories about foxes have captured the hearts of young readers for generations, with their cunning and clever personalities. From classic tales like “The Tale of Jemima Puddle-Duck” to modern bestsellers like “Foxcraft,” foxes have been used as characters in countless stories that teach important lessons about friendship, perseverance, and compassion.

Whether your little one is looking for heartwarming stories of friendship, thrilling adventures, or thought-provoking tales about empathy and understanding, there’s a fox story out there for them.

The Best Fox Stories for Kids

Fantastic Mr. Fox by Roald Dahl

Recommended for ages 8-12

In this classic story, a wily fox outsmarts three farmers who are trying to catch him and his family. It’s a funny and clever book that’s perfect for fans of Roald Dahl’s imaginative stories.

The Tale of Jemima Puddle-Duck by Beatrix Potter

Recommended for ages 4-8

In this charming story, a motherly duck encounters a smooth-talking fox who tries to lure her into his den. It’s a cautionary tale about trusting strangers and staying safe.

The Fox and the Star by Coralie Bickford-Smith

Recommended for ages 4-8

This beautifully illustrated picture book follows a little fox who befriends a star and goes on a magical journey to help it shine again. It’s a poetic and heartwarming story that’s perfect for bedtime.

Foxy and Egg by Alex T. Smith

Recommended for ages 4-8

In this humorous story, a clever fox named Foxy tries to steal a chicken’s egg but finds himself in over his head when the egg hatches. It’s a silly and entertaining book that’s perfect for kids who love animals and humor.

Little Fox in the Forest by Stephanie Graegin

Recommended for ages 4-8

This wordless picture book follows a little girl who befriends a fox and helps him find his missing toy. It’s a beautifully illustrated book that encourages creativity and imagination.

The Fox Wish by Kimiko Aman

Recommended for ages 4-8

In this touching story, two sisters make a wish on a shooting star to meet a real fox, and their wish comes true in unexpected ways. It’s a gentle and heartwarming book about the magic of nature.

Fox and Crow Are Not Friends by Melissa Wiley

Recommended for ages 6-8

In this humorous chapter book, a clever fox tries to trick a boastful crow into dropping a piece of cheese. It’s a fun and engaging book that’s perfect for young readers who are transitioning to longer stories.

Fox by Margaret Wild

Recommended for ages 4-8

This poignant story follows a dog and a magpie who befriend a lonely fox, but their friendship is threatened by the fox’s wild nature. It’s a beautifully illustrated book that explores themes of empathy and understanding.

Juniper: The Happiest Fox by Jessika Coker

Recommended for ages 6-10

This nonfiction book tells the heartwarming true story of Juniper, a pet fox who captured the hearts of millions on social media with her adorable antics. It’s a delightful book that teaches kids about the importance of animal welfare and responsible pet ownership.

The Fox on the Swing by Evelina Daciutè

Recommended for ages 4-8

This charming picture book tells the story of a little boy who befriends a fox that visits him on a swing in his backyard. It’s a gentle and whimsical book that celebrates the magic of friendship and the beauty of nature.

Author

  • Eliza Cook is a children's author who weaves tales of wonder and imagination. She enjoys transporting readers to magical places through her whimsical children's stories and picture books. Her stories are filled with lovable characters, engaging plots, and valuable lessons that help children learn about the world around them.